缅省中文学院成人教育     

汪洁

今天,想借《中院成人班园地》这个平台简单介绍一下中院成人班今年的一些教学理念和教学计划,也想就这个机会让更多的人了解我们中院成人班。同时我们也希望在大家的支持和参与下,我们中院成人班能更上一层楼,朝着:“解你所惑,答你所疑,教你所问,成你所愿”的教学目标,让每一个来到我们中院成人班的学生学有所获、名扬在外。

我们成人班就目前来说,学生按汉语掌握程度的不同共分为三个班:“成人一班”主要面向的是那些没有汉语基础、刚开始接触汉语的学生,其中也不乏一些在学了一年以后觉得还想再巩固的学生。“成人一班”的教学方法主要以口语为主,采用拼音和简单的日常用语并进,加以大量的听力练习和对话造句。在学习一些简单对话如:家庭称谓、见面介绍、打车约会、购物订票等的同时,结合成人特点也会按学生具体需求来增减和改变。“成人一班”的学生人数一般在十五人以内。今年执教“成人一班”的是由多年教学经验的原“成人三班”老师曾玉芳和年轻助教担纲,相信一定会得到大家的首肯。

“成人二班”的学生基本要求是有一点拼音和汉语的基础,能说并听懂简单的句子。“成人二班”是在汉语拼音基础上学习更多的词语、句子和一些简单的语法,教学内容将根据课文学习一些学生感兴趣的有关生活、运动、购物、等等。通过相关的看图说话和视频短片来提高口语和理解能力,模仿课文写对话并采取多种形式进行听力能力的练习。在老师指导启发下能写一些应景小短文,并互相交流。今年“成人二班”的老师还将由任教11年的汪洁继续担任,并将一如既往地秉承以学生的学习愿望为教学目标的宗旨,让来学中文的每一个学生真正收获他们所想学的。

“成人三班”目前来说是我们中院成人班的最高班,学生基本能听懂老师所讲的内容,会写一些短文和熟练对话。以阅读和欣赏通俗简单的文学作品为主,学习一些特殊节日的礼仪和风俗习惯并了解其历史背景。今年我们将会尝试一些新的教学内容,譬如:商业、贸易、职业等。当然也会在听取大多数学生的要求后做适当的调整。今年担任“成人三班”老师的是有着很高文学造诣的邢一頳和她的助教杨天娇。邢老师无论从中国历史文化到文学背景知识都有其独到的见解,这对学习中文的学生来说无疑是一个不可多得的机会。

虽说从成人一班到三班的学生水平来自三个不同的级别,但我们成人班的老师经常交流各自的教学心得,互相衔接,互相帮助,不断提高,不断创新。今年我们还将联合三个班的学生参加学校组织的朗诵比赛,去不同的班互动交流展示各自的教学成果等。

中院成人班自开办以来的几十年里,一直备受理事长和学校校长的支持和关心,在学校学生总体结构中占有相当比例的中院成人班在接下来的一年里又将会迎接新的挑战,相信在学校理事会和教务委员会的大力支持下,我们成人班定会更加进步、完善,让我们携起手来不断超越,努力实现我们的既定目标,共创我们精彩的明天。

The Adult Chinese Classes      

By: Jie Wang  Translated by: Alice Dai

Today, I am honored to introduce the adult Chinese classes on the school newsletter, “The Chinese Learning Centre for Adults”. I will be discussing the educational purposes and plans for the classes this year in the article. I hope this will covey the information around our community so that more people will know that adult classes are available at MACS. In addition, we hope our adult Chinese classes will improve with everyone’s support and participation in order to meet our goals. “Solve your confusions, answer your doubts, teach your questions, accomplish your wishes.”. I hope everyone in the class will enjoy their journey during their studies and learn Chinese in a welcoming environment.

We separated the students into three different classes based on their knowledge of Chinese. “Class one” is built for students that understand minimal Chinese or stopped learning Chinese and wish to continue. In “Class one”, we usually focus on speaking, simple grammar, using phonetics to teach common phrases between conversations. In addition, we give students the opportunity to listen and write for simple conversations. Some examples for the conversations are: family appellations; introductions; communicating with taxi drivers; shopping and ordering tickets, etc. We adjust the contents being taught based on each student’s language requirements. We have approximately 15 students enrolled in “Class one”. Mrs. Zeng Yufang who used to teach “Class three” and a young teacher assistant will be teaching this year.

“Class two” is for students that have a basic knowledge in Chinese and are able to speak and understand simple sentences. “Class two” helps students to increase their vocabulary, learn more complex sentences and improve their grammar. The learning contents will be composed of different articles of the students’ interests such as: sports, shopping, daily life subjects and so on. We will be using pictures and videos to improve their ability to  speak and understand. With the teacher’s instruction, students will be able to write short stories and communicate with each other more effectively. This year, “Class two” will be taught by Mrs. Wang Jie who has been teaching adult classes at MACS for 11 years. She always pays attention to every students wishes and goals in order to have every student learn what they are interested in.

“Class three” is the highest adult class at MACS. Students will understand the majority of the contents taught by the teacher, and will be able to have fluent conversations and write short stories. We will focus on reading and comprehending simple novels, learning about traditions during special occasions and also the historical background of China. We will be using some new learning contents this year such as: business, trades, professions, etc. Of course, we will change minor parts of the contents based on the students opinions. Mrs. Xing Yicheng will be teaching “Class three” with her teacher assistant, Mrs. Yang Tianjiao. Mrs. Xing has great opinions and a very deep understanding in historical Chinese literature.. This is a very good opportunity for students who are very interested in learning about the cultural history and literature of China.

Although the levels of the classes are different, the teachers always communicate with each other in order to find different ways to connect, improve, develop and innovate their teaching methods together. We will be having a reading competition composed of the students in all three classes. This will show how the students have developed throughout the course and also give them the opportunity to learn from the performances by other classes.

Ourpresident and school principal have been very supportive of our adult Chinese classes since it was established decades ago. Adult Chinese classes are a huge part of the school, and we look forward to working with the executives and school committee in order to make the classes better each year. Let us improve together, accomplish our goals and work for a bright future.